Buying Guides

Best USB Hubs: 10 Picks for Desks, Laptops, and Gaming in 2026

Compare USB hubs for laptop expansion, charging, card access, and desk setups, with key tradeoffs around port types and power.

This article contains affiliate links. We may earn a commission if you buy through them, at no extra cost to you.

The best USB hubs add the connections your setup lacks, from extra USB ports to display, charging, and card access. Choose by host connection, the devices you need to attach, and whether you want a compact travel adapter or a powered desk hub.

Quick Top Products

Fast Laptop Expansion

SABRENT 5-in-1 USB-C Hub (HB-TG5P)

SABRENT 5-in-1 USB-C Hub (HB-TG5P)
  • Provides two USB-A and two USB-C data ports rated at 10Gbps.
  • Supports HDMI output up to 4K at 60Hz.
  • Passes up to 80W to the laptop with a 100W charger connected.

Best For: Laptop users who want fast USB data ports, HDMI, and pass-through charging in one compact hub.

Built-In SSD Storage Dock

SABRENT USB-C 6-Port Hub & M.2 SSD Dock

SABRENT USB-C 6-Port Hub & M.2 SSD Dock
  • Includes an M.2 slot for SATA or NVMe SSDs.
  • Provides HDMI output up to 4K at 60Hz and Gigabit Ethernet.
  • Has three USB-A ports with mixed data speeds.

Best For: Laptop and handheld users who want Ethernet, HDMI, several USB-A ports, and an internal M.2 SSD slot.

Card Reader and Audio Combo

j5create USB-C 7-in-1 Hub (JCD373EC)

j5create USB-C 7-in-1 Hub (JCD373EC)
  • Combines USB-A, HDMI, charging, audio, and card reader connections.
  • Supports HDMI up to 4K at 30Hz.
  • Has a USB-C power delivery port rated at 100W.

Best For: Laptop users who want HDMI, SD and microSD readers, audio, USB-A ports, and charging pass-through.

Compact Aluminum Display Adapter

SABRENT USB-C Hub, 4K HDMI, 90W PD (HB-SHPU)

SABRENT USB-C Hub, 4K HDMI, 90W PD (HB-SHPU)
  • Offers HDMI output up to 4K at 60Hz.
  • Includes one 5Gbps USB-A port and two USB 2.0 ports.
  • Supports power delivery up to 90W.

Best For: Traveling laptop users who want HDMI, three USB-A ports, and pass-through charging in a compact aluminum hub.

Simple HDMI and Peripheral Expansion

SABRENT USB-C Hub (HB-TC5P)

SABRENT USB-C Hub (HB-TC5P)
  • Provides one USB 3.0 and two USB 2.0 USB-A ports.
  • Supports HDMI output up to 4K at 60Hz.
  • Passes through up to 100W of power.

Best For: USB-C laptop users who want HDMI, three USB-A ports, and pass-through charging for everyday work.

USB-C Port Control at a Desk

SABRENT 7-Port USB-C Hub (HB-3A4C)

SABRENT 7-Port USB-C Hub (HB-3A4C)
  • Mixes three USB-A and four USB-C 5Gbps ports.
  • Provides an individual switch and LED for each port.
  • Includes a 48W power adapter.

Best For: A desk setup needing a mix of USB-A and USB-C ports with individual switches and an included power adapter.

Powered USB-A Ports with Charging

SABRENT 10-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-B7C3)

SABRENT 10-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-B7C3)
  • Connects up to seven USB 3.0 data devices.
  • Includes three dedicated charging ports.
  • Has a 60W power adapter and switches with LEDs.

Best For: A desk with several USB-A peripherals and a need for separate charging ports and per-port switches.

Ten Switched USB 3.0 Ports

SABRENT 10-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-BU10)

SABRENT 10-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-BU10)
  • Provides ten USB 3.0 ports rated up to 5Gbps.
  • Each port has a switch and blue LED indicator.
  • Uses plug-and-play setup without drivers.

Best For: Users who need many switched USB 3.0 connections for drives, card readers, and other peripherals.

Four Powered USB 3.0 Ports

SABRENT 4-Port Powered USB 3.0 Hub (HB-UMP3)

SABRENT 4-Port Powered USB 3.0 Hub (HB-UMP3)
  • Adds four USB 3.0 ports.
  • Includes individual switches with LED indicators.
  • Includes a 5V/2.5A power adapter.

Best For: A small desk setup that needs four switched USB 3.0 ports and a power adapter.

High-Port-Count USB 3.0 Expansion

SABRENT 16-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-PU16)

SABRENT 16-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-PU16)
  • Provides sixteen USB 3.0 ports.
  • Supports data transfer up to 5Gbps.
  • Includes blue LEDs for port power status.

Best For: A workstation that needs many USB-A connections for peripherals, storage, and charging access.

Fast Laptop Expansion

SABRENT USB C Hub 5-in-1, 10Gbps USB-A & USB-C Ports, Single 4K@60Hz HDMI, 100W PD Input, 80W Laptop Charging, Compact Aluminum Docking Station for MacBook, iPad, Laptops & Tablets (HB-TG5P)

SABRENT 5-in-1 USB-C Hub (HB-TG5P)
Check Price on Amazon

This SABRENT USB-C hub combines four 10Gbps data ports with HDMI and a dedicated USB-C power input. Its HDMI output supports up to 4K at 60Hz, while the hub passes up to 80W to a laptop from a separately supplied 100W USB-C charger.

The integrated 60cm cable offers more placement flexibility than a short plug-in adapter, and the aluminum housing uses passive cooling. Check that the host supports DisplayPort Alternate Mode for video; extended desktop mode also requires MST.

This is a strong fit for a laptop desk or travel kit that needs fast peripherals and a display connection.

Best For: Laptop users who want fast USB data ports, HDMI, and pass-through charging in one compact hub.

Pros Cons
  • Pairs high-speed USB ports with HDMI in one hub.
  • Offers a longer integrated cable for flexible placement.
  • The power adapter is not included.
  • Extended desktop mode depends on host MST support.

Choose this model if your laptop setup needs HDMI and several fast USB peripherals, including both USB-A and USB-C devices. The 80W pass-through ceiling means it does not forward the full 100W charger rating, and you need to supply that charger separately.

Before buying, confirm that the laptop supports DisplayPort Alternate Mode for video and MST if you need extended desktop output.

Check Price on Amazon

Built-In SSD Storage Dock

SABRENT USB-C Hub & SSD Enclosure, 6-Port Dock with M.2 SSD Slot, 90W Power Delivery, USB 3.0 & 2.0 Ports, 4K HDMI, RJ45 Gigabit Ethernet (HB-6PNV)

SABRENT USB-C 6-Port Hub & M.2 SSD Dock
Check Price on Amazon

The HB-6PNV adds a set of practical desk and travel connections around a built-in M.2 slot. It has three USB-A ports, Gigabit Ethernet, HDMI output up to 4K at 60Hz, and up to 90W USB-C power delivery.

The M.2 slot accepts SATA or NVMe drives in supported 2242, 2260, or 2280 form factors and connects at up to 5Gbps. Its integrated USB-C host connection runs at 10Gbps.

This is a specialized choice for carrying storage with a laptop or compatible handheld, but check device video support and the SSD form factor before buying.

Best For: Laptop and handheld users who want Ethernet, HDMI, several USB-A ports, and an internal M.2 SSD slot.

Pros Cons
  • Combines portable SSD expansion with hub functions.
  • Adds wired Gigabit Ethernet alongside HDMI.
  • The USB 2.0 port is slower than the two USB 3.2 Gen 1 ports.
  • HDMI requires a host device with DisplayPort Alternate Mode.

Choose the HB-6PNV when carrying an M.2 drive, wired networking, and a display connection together is useful. It is less focused on a broad mix of USB-C downstream ports, since its three expansion ports are USB-A.

Check whether your device supports DisplayPort Alternate Mode and confirm that your SSD is SATA or NVMe and one of the supported form factors.

Check Price on Amazon

Card Reader and Audio Combo

j5create USB-C Multi-Port Hub with Power Delivery with 4K HDMI/2 USB-A 5Gbps/PD 100W Charging SD&Micro SD/3.5mm Audio | for MacBook Pro&Air/iPad Pro/iMac/Surface/XPS/Thinkpad/Galaxy/and More(JCD373EC)

j5create USB-C 7-in-1 Hub (JCD373EC)
Check Price on Amazon

The j5create JCD373EC brings common laptop connections into one USB-C adapter: two USB-A data ports, HDMI, an SD and microSD reader, a 3.5mm audio jack, and a 100W power delivery port. The HDMI output supports up to 4K at 30Hz, so check whether that refresh rate fits your monitor use.

Its USB-A ports are rated at 5Gbps, which suits everyday peripherals and file transfers. The hub is designed for plug-and-play use across a range of computers and tablets.

It suits a mixed workstation or travel setup where card access and wired audio matter as much as adding USB ports.

Best For: Laptop users who want HDMI, SD and microSD readers, audio, USB-A ports, and charging pass-through.

Pros Cons
  • Includes both SD and microSD card access.
  • Adds a 3.5mm audio connection to a USB-C setup.
  • HDMI tops out at 30Hz at 4K.
  • Not specified: how much power reaches the host during pass-through. Check the host charging rate for your setup.

This hub fits a laptop user who regularly moves files from SD or microSD cards and wants audio and HDMI without separate adapters. Its HDMI output is rated for 4K at 30Hz.

Confirm how the 100W PD rating translates to host charging for your setup, and make sure the host has USB-C.

Check Price on Amazon

Compact Aluminum Display Adapter

SABRENT Multi-Port USB-C Hub with Power Delivery, HDMI Out, 3 USB A Ports, 4K@60Hz, 90W PD, Aluminum [HB-SHPU]

SABRENT USB-C Hub, 4K HDMI, 90W PD (HB-SHPU)
Check Price on Amazon

The HB-SHPU is a compact USB-C hub for adding a display connection and a few everyday peripherals. It has one USB-A port rated at 5Gbps and two USB 2.0 ports for slower accessories, plus HDMI output up to 4K at 60Hz and up to 90W power delivery.

The integrated 15cm cable keeps the adapter attached, while its aluminum casing is intended to help dissipate heat. The short cable suits travel and reduces desk clutter, though it gives less placement reach than longer-cable hubs.

HDMI requires host DisplayPort Alternate Mode, so check the laptop or tablet before relying on display output.

Best For: Traveling laptop users who want HDMI, three USB-A ports, and pass-through charging in a compact aluminum hub.

Pros Cons
  • Combines display output, USB expansion, and charging support.
  • Uses an integrated cable for a compact travel setup.
  • Two of its USB-A ports are USB 2.0 speed.
  • Display output requires host DisplayPort Alternate Mode.

Choose this hub when compact size and a 60Hz HDMI connection matter more than having several fast data ports. Only one USB-A port reaches 5Gbps, so put storage or other speed-sensitive devices there and use the USB 2.0 ports for keyboards or mice.

Check your host's video support and charging requirements, since the hub's power delivery ceiling is 90W.

Check Price on Amazon

Simple HDMI and Peripheral Expansion

SABRENT USB C Hub, USB C to HDMI 4K@60Hz, Type C Hub Multiport Adapter, 100W Power Delivery, Compatible with MacBook, Laptop (HB-TC5P)

SABRENT USB-C Hub (HB-TC5P)
Check Price on Amazon

The HB-TC5P is a straightforward multiport adapter with HDMI, three USB-A connections, and a USB-C power input. Its HDMI 2.0 output supports up to 4K at 60Hz, and the USB-A mix includes one 5Gbps port for storage plus two 480Mbps ports for lower-speed peripherals.

The PD input supports up to 100W pass-through charging, but it does not carry data or video. Its integrated USB-C cable and aluminum shell suit work, travel, and everyday use.

Check that your laptop's USB-C port supports DisplayPort Alternate Mode before expecting HDMI output.

Best For: USB-C laptop users who want HDMI, three USB-A ports, and pass-through charging for everyday work.

Pros Cons
  • Combines display output, charging input, and three USB-A ports.
  • Works across Windows, macOS, and Linux.
  • The USB-C PD input does not carry data or video.
  • Only one USB-A port is rated at 5Gbps.

The HB-TC5P is a practical pick if your main needs are one HDMI display, charging, and a mix of USB-A devices. It is less suitable for a collection of fast storage devices because two USB-A connections are USB 2.0.

Verify that your host supports video over USB-C, and remember that the PD input is reserved for charging rather than connecting another data device.

Check Price on Amazon

USB-C Port Control at a Desk

SABRENT 7-Port USB-C Hub, 48W Powered, 5Gbps, 3 USB-A + 4 USB-C (HB-3A4C) | 20W PD; LED status; aluminum body; power switches; for Mac, PC, Steam Deck, ROG Ally

SABRENT 7-Port USB-C Hub (HB-3A4C)
Check Price on Amazon

This powered hub expands a USB-C host with seven downstream ports: three USB-A and four USB-C, all rated at 5Gbps. Each port has its own power switch and white LED indicator, making it easy to control connected peripherals individually.

The included 48W adapter supplies the hub, and one USB-C port supports up to 20W PD; the other three USB-C ports provide 5V/900mA. Its aluminum housing is designed to dissipate heat.

This is a desk-oriented option for varied devices and port-by-port control. Check the power needs of connected devices and distinguish its 20W port from the other USB-C connections.

Best For: A desk setup needing a mix of USB-A and USB-C ports with individual switches and an included power adapter.

Pros Cons
  • Offers a balanced mix of USB-A and USB-C ports.
  • Allows individual control of connected ports.
  • Only one USB-C port supports up to 20W PD.
  • The other three USB-C ports provide 5V/900mA.

Choose this model for a desk where you want both connector types and independent control over each connection. Its USB-C ports are not equivalent: one supports up to 20W PD, while the others provide 5V/900mA.

Check which port suits each device, and remember that the included 48W adapter powers the hub rather than making every port a high-power charger.

Check Price on Amazon

Powered USB-A Ports with Charging

SABRENT 10-Port USB 3.0 Hub, Individual Power Switches and LEDs, 3 Smart Charging Ports, 60W Power Adapter, for PC, Mac, Xbox, PS5, Laptop, Desktop, USB Devices (HB-B7C3)

SABRENT 10-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-B7C3)
Check Price on Amazon

The HB-B7C3 combines seven USB 3.0 data connections with three dedicated charging ports. The data ports support transfers up to 5Gbps, while each charging port can deliver up to 2.4A to compatible phones, tablets, and other USB-powered devices.

A 60W adapter is included to power the hub, and individual switches with LEDs let you control and check each port. The hub works with Windows, macOS, and Linux without drivers.

This is a better match for a USB-A desk setup than someone seeking HDMI, card readers, or multiple USB-C ports; those functions are not among its specified connections.

Best For: A desk with several USB-A peripherals and a need for separate charging ports and per-port switches.

Pros Cons
  • Separates seven data ports from three charging ports.
  • Includes power for the hub and per-port controls.
  • The three charging ports deliver up to 2.4A each.
  • No HDMI, card reader, or USB-C downstream port is specified.

Pick the HB-B7C3 if your desk has many USB-A data devices and you also want dedicated ports for charging smaller devices. The charging ports are rated in amps per port, so check whether that suits the devices you plan to charge; the supplied facts do not describe USB-C or display connections.

Its powered design and port switches are more relevant to a stationary setup than a minimal laptop travel kit.

Check Price on Amazon

Ten Switched USB 3.0 Ports

SABRENT 10-Port 60W USB 3.0 Hub with Individual Power Switches and LEDs, Includes 60W 12V/5A Power Adapter (HB-BU10)

SABRENT 10-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-BU10)
Check Price on Amazon

The HB-BU10 provides ten USB 3.0 ports, each with a power switch and blue LED indicator. The ports support data transfer up to 5Gbps and can connect card readers, phones, hard drives, and other USB peripherals.

A 60W, 12V/5A power adapter is included, and the hub uses plug-and-play operation without driver installation. Its mirrored finish and compact design suit a permanent workstation with a larger group of USB devices.

It focuses on USB-A expansion and individual power control; no display output, card slots, or separate charging-port arrangement is specified in the supplied details.

Best For: Users who need many switched USB 3.0 connections for drives, card readers, and other peripherals.

Pros Cons
  • Offers ten ports for peripherals and storage.
  • Includes individual port power controls.
  • Not specified: a distinct charging-port layout or output rating. Check the port and power details against your device needs.
  • No HDMI or card reader is specified.

Choose the HB-BU10 when the main problem is a shortage of USB-A connections and you want control over each port. The ten connections are described as USB 3.0 ports, with no separate charging-port layout or HDMI output specified.

Check your computer's available host connection and plan how the hub will sit on the desk; the supplied facts do not identify the cable length.

Check Price on Amazon

Four Powered USB 3.0 Ports

SABRENT 4 Port USB 3.0 Hub with Individual LED Lit Power Switches, Includes 5V/2.5A Power Adapter (HB-UMP3)

SABRENT 4-Port Powered USB 3.0 Hub (HB-UMP3)
Check Price on Amazon

The HB-UMP3 adds four USB 3.0 ports and includes a 5V/2.5A power adapter. Individual switches with LED indicators let you turn connections on or off, while plug-and-play and hot-swappable support make setup simple.

The ports support data transfer up to 5Gbps and are backward compatible with USB 2.0 and USB 1.1 speeds. This is a compact functional choice when four USB-A connections are enough and external hub power is useful.

The supplied details do not explain charging behavior or host cable length, so check those points if you need the hub for a specific device or desk placement.

Best For: A small desk setup that needs four switched USB 3.0 ports and a power adapter.

Pros Cons
  • Offers individual control and status indicators for each port.
  • Supports data rates up to 5Gbps.
  • Not specified: whether the adapter powers connected devices for charging.
  • Not specified: the host cable length.

This model suits a straightforward desk setup where four USB 3.0 ports, individual switches, and an included adapter are the core needs. It does not add display, card-reader, or USB-C downstream features in the supplied details.

Confirm the adapter's role for your devices and the cable reach you need, since those specifics are not provided.

Check Price on Amazon

High-Port-Count USB 3.0 Expansion

SABRENT 16-Port USB 3.0 Data Hub and Charger with Individual Power Switches, 90W High-Power Output (HB-PU16)

SABRENT 16-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-PU16)
Check Price on Amazon

The HB-PU16 provides sixteen downstream USB 3.0 ports, with data rates up to 5Gbps and backward compatibility for USB 2.0 and USB 1.1 devices. Blue LEDs show port power status, and the hub supports plug-and-play and hot swapping.

The product details also say the ports can be used for accessing or charging connected peripherals, but they do not separate charging ports or provide per-port charging output figures. Its large port count makes it relevant to a workstation with many connections, though buyers should check the included power supply details and physical placement before choosing it for a desk.

Best For: A workstation that needs many USB-A connections for peripherals, storage, and charging access.

Pros Cons
  • Offers a high number of downstream USB connections.
  • Supports USB 2.0 and USB 1.1 devices as well as USB 3.0.
  • Not specified: the power adapter rating and included supply details.
  • Not specified: per-port charging output.

Choose the HB-PU16 when the priority is a large number of USB-A connections at one workstation. The product supports data access and says connected devices can be charged, but it gives no per-port charging output in the supplied details.

Check the power supply and intended load before relying on it to serve a group of charging devices.

Check Price on Amazon

How to Choose Usb Hubs

How We Picked USB Hubs

For a broad USB hub roundup, the useful choices need to solve different connection problems: adding fast USB ports, bringing HDMI and charging together, expanding a desk's USB-A count, or making room for card readers and wired networking. The selected products cover compact laptop adapters, powered desktop hubs, and high-port-count options.

Each entry has a distinct port mix or use case, so a reader can narrow the field by setup rather than port count alone.

Host compatibility matters as much as the hub itself. Several USB-C adapters need DisplayPort Alternate Mode for HDMI, and one specifically requires MST for extended desktop mode.

The USB-C port on a laptop does not guarantee video output, so check the host's capabilities before choosing a display hub.

Comparing USB Hubs

Compact USB-C hubs trade a smaller footprint for fewer or slower downstream ports. The j5create adapter adds HDMI, audio, SD and microSD readers, and 100W PD, while its 4K HDMI output is rated at 30Hz.

SABRENT's HB-SHPU is slimmer in function, with 4K at 60Hz and up to 90W PD, but only one USB-A port reaches 5Gbps. The HB-TG5P adds four 10Gbps data ports and up to 80W laptop charging, but requires a separate 100W charger.

Powered USB-A hubs suit desks with more attached devices. The HB-B7C3 divides its ten connections into seven data ports and three charging ports, while the HB-BU10 offers ten switched USB 3.0 ports without a separately described charging layout.

The HB-PU16 has sixteen downstream ports, but its per-port charging output and power adapter details need checking. For a mixed USB-C and USB-A desk, the HB-3A4C has seven switched ports and an included 48W adapter, with just one USB-C port supporting up to 20W PD.

ProductStandout featuresBest for
SABRENT 5-in-1 USB-C Hub (HB-TG5P)Check Price
  • Provides two USB-A and two USB-C data ports rated at 10Gbps.
  • Supports HDMI output up to 4K at 60Hz.
Laptop users who want fast USB data ports, HDMI, and pass-through charging in one compact hub.
SABRENT USB-C 6-Port Hub & M.2 SSD DockCheck Price
  • Includes an M.2 slot for SATA or NVMe SSDs.
  • Provides HDMI output up to 4K at 60Hz and Gigabit Ethernet.
Laptop and handheld users who want Ethernet, HDMI, several USB-A ports, and an internal M.2 SSD slot.
j5create USB-C 7-in-1 Hub (JCD373EC)Check Price
  • Combines USB-A, HDMI, charging, audio, and card reader connections.
  • Supports HDMI up to 4K at 30Hz.
Laptop users who want HDMI, SD and microSD readers, audio, USB-A ports, and charging pass-through.
SABRENT USB-C Hub, 4K HDMI, 90W PD (HB-SHPU)Check Price
  • Offers HDMI output up to 4K at 60Hz.
  • Includes one 5Gbps USB-A port and two USB 2.0 ports.
Traveling laptop users who want HDMI, three USB-A ports, and pass-through charging in a compact aluminum hub.
SABRENT USB-C Hub (HB-TC5P)Check Price
  • Provides one USB 3.0 and two USB 2.0 USB-A ports.
  • Supports HDMI output up to 4K at 60Hz.
USB-C laptop users who want HDMI, three USB-A ports, and pass-through charging for everyday work.
SABRENT 7-Port USB-C Hub (HB-3A4C)Check Price
  • Mixes three USB-A and four USB-C 5Gbps ports.
  • Provides an individual switch and LED for each port.
A desk setup needing a mix of USB-A and USB-C ports with individual switches and an included power adapter.
SABRENT 10-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-B7C3)Check Price
  • Connects up to seven USB 3.0 data devices.
  • Includes three dedicated charging ports.
A desk with several USB-A peripherals and a need for separate charging ports and per-port switches.
SABRENT 10-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-BU10)Check Price
  • Provides ten USB 3.0 ports rated up to 5Gbps.
  • Each port has a switch and blue LED indicator.
Users who need many switched USB 3.0 connections for drives, card readers, and other peripherals.
SABRENT 4-Port Powered USB 3.0 Hub (HB-UMP3)Check Price
  • Adds four USB 3.0 ports.
  • Includes individual switches with LED indicators.
A small desk setup that needs four switched USB 3.0 ports and a power adapter.
SABRENT 16-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-PU16)Check Price
  • Provides sixteen USB 3.0 ports.
  • Supports data transfer up to 5Gbps.
A workstation that needs many USB-A connections for peripherals, storage, and charging access.

Choose Ports for Your Laptop or Desk

Count the devices that stay connected and identify their plugs before comparing hubs. A USB-A keyboard and mouse can use slower ports, while a frequently used external drive benefits from a faster connection.

The HB-TC5P and HB-SHPU each combine one faster USB-A port with two USB 2.0 ports; that layout is sensible when storage is occasional and lower-speed peripherals are always connected. For a desk full of USB-A devices, the switched ten-port options offer more connection room.

Look for a separate powered hub when the setup includes multiple peripherals or devices that need power while the computer is busy. The HB-B7C3 includes a 60W adapter and identifies three dedicated charging ports with up to 2.4A per port.

The HB-UMP3 includes a 5V/2.5A adapter, but the supplied details do not specify charging output behavior. Treat an included adapter and a charging port as separate facts, and check the power details for devices you expect to charge.

USB-C Hubs for Displays, Cards, and Storage

A USB-C hub's headline port count may hide differences in what each port does. HDMI uses the host's video support, while a power delivery input is not necessarily a data port.

The HB-TC5P's PD input handles charging only, and the HB-TG5P reserves one USB-C connection for the charger, leaving four USB data ports. If you need HDMI and multiple fast drives, compare the downstream data-port count rather than the total number of hub connections.

Choose card access or built-in storage only when those features fit your workflow. The j5create option has SD and microSD slots; the SABRENT HB-6PNV instead accepts an M.2 SATA or NVMe SSD in specified form factors and adds Gigabit Ethernet.

The SSD connects at up to 5Gbps, so check drive type and size before buying. If wired network access matters, the HB-6PNV is the one selected option with Gigabit Ethernet.

Who Should Buy Which USB Hub?

For a laptop desk with fast peripherals and HDMI, the SABRENT HB-TG5P combines 10Gbps USB data with 4K at 60Hz, provided the host supports video output. For card transfers, audio, and a 4K display connection, the j5create JCD373EC brings more media connections but runs 4K at 30Hz.

Travelers wanting basic HDMI and charging in a compact aluminum form can consider the HB-SHPU, while users with a wired network and portable SSD can look at the HB-6PNV.

For a USB-A workstation, match the hub's powered design and controls to the number of devices you keep connected. The HB-B7C3 separates charging from data, the HB-BU10 provides ten switched USB 3.0 connections, and the HB-PU16 prioritizes a larger port count.

If a mix of USB-C and USB-A ports matters, the HB-3A4C provides both, but only one USB-C port has the specified 20W PD support. Decide first whether your central need is fast data, host charging, port control, or a large device count.

Written by

shiftedup.com Editorial Team

Editorial team

Independent editorial coverage of code & developer life.

Best overall

In a hurry?

Start with this pick, then check Amazon for available deals.

SABRENT 16-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-PU16)

SABRENT 16-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-PU16)

4.5/51,000+ ratingsRead Amazon Reviews ↗

Best for: A workstation that needs many USB-A connections for peripherals, storage, and charging access.

Check for deals on Amazon